DA-Victoria Connect-In: lots of links

On the weekend, I spoke about diabetes and social media at the Diabetes Australia – Victoria Connect-In forum for 18-25 year olds living with type 1 diabetes. I thought this was a great forum and something I would have really benefited from when I was around 18 or 19, because it probably would have made me move towards an insulin pump far sooner, and also build connections with other T1 folk. I was also stoked to see that Georgie from My Lazy Pancreas started up a hashtag on twitter for this event!

In a nutshell, I talked about how and why I use social media as one component of my diabetes management, and how I had barely talked to another person with diabetes until connecting up with people from the Diabetes Online Community. At the forum, I discussed a range of examples of how social media is used in the Diabetes Online Community, and promised to compile a list of the examples I mentioned. This list is not exhaustive and just provides a snapshot of some good stuff happening out there, and where I started when I first put the words “diabetes and stuff” in Google.

Where I started:

  • Reality Check, the forum managed by the Type 1 Diabetes Network

Examples of product reviews

Examples of Advocacy:

Examples of Support:

Examples of engaging with organisations:

Examples of social media campaigns:

Examples of social media and events:

Examples of awesome:

Hashtags to start with:

Blogs to start with (there are heaps and heaps of great diabetes blogs out there, but these are the main ones that I started reading…now I try and read hundreds!):

Again, this is just a snapshot of where I started with my adventures into social media and diabetes, and some places that I think people should look at if they are new to social media and diabetes. There is heaps out there, and in particular, the Australian scene is growing!

If you are just starting out, don’t forget to have a look at the #OzDOC chat that takes place each Tuesday night at 8.30 EST. The first ever #OzDOC chat took place on Tuesday, 31 July 2012, and the group officially celebrated it’s first birthday last weekend!

One thought on “DA-Victoria Connect-In: lots of links

Leave a Reply

