To absent blogging…and a new twitter account for diabetes

Hi all,

So I’ve been pretty absent from this blog. Life is hectic, and I’ve barely posted for a long time. Work is busy. I’ve gone back to study. I have a number of other commitments. Basically, there are not enough hours in the week for me to do everything I would like to, and I generally tend to overcommit myself! I’ve been sick three or four times this year, which is unusual, because despite my diabetic immune system, I’m normally pretty durable.

With all of this happening, I reckon my diabetes management has taken a bit of hit. I haven’t done a pump data upload in forever. I’ve over-treated hypos far too often. I forgot to order test strips. I haven’t been exercising. The list continues.

One of the things I’ve noticed is that I have been really absent from the diabetes online community on twitter, including the #OzDOC chats and reading blogs. I know some people only use twitter for diabetes purposes but I use it for diabetes, discussions about a number of sports, following politics, following music, keeping track of the news, staying in touch with friends and staying on top of new technology. In short, my twitter account was pretty nuts and I feel like I wasn’t in the right headspace to focus some attention on the diabetes conversations taking place.

So, I’ve started @MattyCameronT1D as an account that will allow me to focus some energy on the diabetes online community. It’s no secret that I find the twitter conversations about diabetes really empowering, supportive and fun, and I haven’t been allowing myself the space to participate as I’d like.

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 5.15.06 PM

I will keep posting on @MattyCameron as well, but will principally keep that to all things sport, coffee, politics, health promotion, sports management and general miscellaneous activity!

Leave a Reply

