FebFast – The Halfway Pint…er…Point.

As I wrote in my last blog, I have decided to do Febafast, which means I am going a month – albeit a short month – without alcohol. This has both fitness and economic rationale, but moreover a chance to objectively look at the role that alcohol plays in my life.

I’m about halfway into the month and I can honestly say that I have not really missed alcohol at all. Sure, there have been times where I wouldn’t have minded a beer, but I haven’t craved one.

I’ve also identified 5 or 6 times in 14 or so date where I normally would have had a drink. Almost a third feels like a lot when you look at it that way. Whilst that might be just a beer here or there, it’s interesting to think about. This included a few casual lunches on weekends, a friend’s 30th birthday, attendance at a soccer game, attendance at a Hawthorn FC game and a few other events. I enjoyed myself at these occasions as I normally would and noticably, I didn’t wake up with a sore head after the 30th.

It has been pretty hard to manage though. I’m probably drinking more diet coke than I normally would, but it’s been a welcome break from the booze that is providing some handy perspective.

Let’s see how the coming fortnight goes!

Leave a Reply

